❔ QUESTION Modding the infotainment screen

Time2Fly

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira on order
Has anyone managed to hack / mod the infotainment? I think it would be cool to inject a picture of our own spec into the startup instead of the silhouette.

Screenshot_20240220-143559.png

_w_

Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
I’m assuming there’s no built in API for customisation so it would be a proper hack and would need to be redone after arbitrary software updates…

KaizokuCoder

Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira on order
I'm a software developer, but I don't know anything about how this is done in cars. Does anybody know if this is all part of the ECU or are there separate systems? Not sure if this is merely hard, or nearly impossible.

Porter

tap tap... is this thing on?
Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
I'm a software developer, but I don't know anything about how this is done in cars. Does anybody know if this is all part of the ECU or are there separate systems? Not sure if this is merely hard, or nearly impossible.
Typically each module is a stand-alone compute device with discrete firmware, storage, OS, software, settings, etc. Usually these are some type of embedded realtime OS like VxWorks or MQX, but not always.

For example, we're seeing huge increases in the use of non-realtime OSes like Linux in automotive contexts over the last 10 or so years. This is particularly often seen in human interface systems like infotainment, likely because of the well-understood media frameworks and low (or nonexistent) licensing costs. An example is Android Automotive, which is essentially a car-focused Linux distribution leveraging the media frameworks available through the Android Open Source Project (AOSP).