Dealer Markups (Stateside)?

mr_joshua

Emira Fan
Reaction score
For those of in the US, we clearly have to contend with actual dealerships who are notorious for all sorts of shenanigans. Wondering folks thoughts about artificially high dealer markups. A member had posted in another thread that Victory Lotus (NJ) added a $20k dealer mark up to which they responding by withdrawing their deposit. I, for one, have no qualms about dealers marking up vehicles due to limited supply and high demand (I'm an economist at heart). Having said that, as a "third" vehicle, I have no intention of paying above MSRP. You could say my "demand" is just not that high. Would like to hear from others...

1) Is anyone getting word that their dealers are adding markups? If so, which dealers?
2) General thoughts on your tolerance for markups? No way jose or depends how high the mark up?

VL3X

Staff member
Reaction score
No markup from Lotus of North Jersey in Summit. It's on my deposit contract and handshake agreement with the GM. I will walk if it gets marked up. If there's no integrity in sales, I'm not willing to struggle through owning any vehicle from this quirky brand with pathetic dealer network in the States.

4thedrivers

Reaction score
ADM could really cripple the current Lotus brand momentum. With a legitimate competitor in the Emira and EV on the way, Lotus needs to oversee their dealer network to avoid markups and build some brand loyalty, particularly here in the states.

TXEMIRA

Emira Maniac
Reaction score
ADM could really cripple the current Lotus brand momentum. With a legitimate competitor in the Emira and EV on the way, Lotus needs to oversee their dealer network to avoid markups and build some brand loyalty, particularly here in the states.
ADM is the Second Suspect on the Potential Crippler List.

First? Main Suspect? #MarketingCommunications

#ForTheSorryNotSorry

mjw930

Emira Fanatic
Reaction score
ADM is the Second Suspect on the Potential Crippler List.