Has anyone weighed the seats?

dgrace

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
Just curious if anyone with a production car (or any aftermarket shop) has tried unbolting the FE seats and putting them on a scale yet?

Evotion

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
I know a company who has.. and there is a massive apprx. 50Kg to be saved if one substitured them for carbon buckets on a lighter frame.

This is not exactly as surprise.
You would shed weight but comfort would be removed and that is against the point of the car.

Still, nice to think they are options and maybe Lotus will offer options themselves.

Fido

Reaction score
Emira Status
Waiting to order
Seats are a bit of a bug-bear for me. I worked in the industry for many years and seats have always been too heavy and over complicated. Fine if the car is going to be driven by several family members of a range of shapes and sizes but I’m likely to be the sole driver with possible rare exceptions. I’d happily have a lightweight seat with minimal adjustment (maybe just fore/aft on rising rails). The perfect solution for me would be some further adjustment via adjustable cams etc that require a spanner to set. Once done it’s done and you don’t spend your life dragging a dozen electric motors around!

Evotion

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Yeah, makes sense.
I did consider some Tillett carbon seats. Sates 50Kg !!!!! but bloody solid and not that adjustable and not really what I want for the Emira.

OP
dgrace

dgrace

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Emira Status
Emira Owner
Yeah, makes sense.
I did consider some Tillett carbon seats. Sates 50Kg !!!!! but bloody solid and not that adjustable and not really what I want for the Emira.
Did your shop come up with a total weight for the stock seats? Would be great to have a number on file for future reference. (i.e. was 50kg the stock weight, or the delta compared to some specific carbon bucket?)

Concept24

Emira Fiend
Reaction score