First ever track day in Evora GT - Anyone care to dance

Pegasi

Emira Maniac
Reaction score
Did my FIRST ever track day in an Evora GT. I realized though that since I am a beginner and not pushing the car to the limit, nor do I have experience tracking another car, I really don't know how good the Evora is!

Here is the track: https://www.atlantamotorsportspark.com/ (Course designed by an F1 architect. Supposedly inspired by the Nurburgring. Great elevation changes.)

I was fortunate enough to be on what's considered a technical track, and not a high speed track, to take advantage of the handling. My top speed was 120mph on the straight section.

The biggest impression on me was that the car feels very tight. In every situation, braking, S turns, weight transfer, etc. never any extra motion or unpredictable weight shifts. I never thought I would say this and frankly thought it was just fluff, I have heard youtubers mention it, but I felt totally connected to the car. Hydraulic steering, brakes, acceleration all felt very instinctive and I guess analog. Example, I didn't break hard enough for a corner one time, so I slightly straightened the wheel back out, hit the brakes, corrected. Amazing. There is one big long curve that I was able to change my line to hit the correct turn in point all while still applying more throttle.

I know I was nowhere near the limit to upset the car but I did get very confident in one set of S turns and just started to dance through them. Maybe the best feeling I have ever had in a car.

If Emira Sport Suspension is slightly stiffer than Evora GT then Sport/Cups for me. Touring is totally off the table now.