Tracker or fit your own Ghost?

ARA

Reaction score
I didnt select the Tracker option (optional extra at £500) in the 'other' section. My logic is that I would rather have a Ghost immobiliser fitted for a cost of £449, a more preventative option than a recovery one.

I live in a fairly decent area where a lot of residents have expensive cars, especially keyless cars. It seems that local cars are stolen almost weekly in the surrounding areas (usually SUVs...range rovers, BMW X5s...not so much the sport cars). Most owners that I have spoken to near me are not taking precautions with the keyless cars that they could , eg using faraday pouches or steerng wheel locks, so it does not surpise me that cars are so easy to take.

As I am new to Lotus, I dont know what the Lotus buyers usually look for in terms of security, in the sense of should I be concerned about resale impact if I dont pick the tracker. I suspect it is not an issue as (a) a buyer could retro fit and (b) telling them it has a ghost fitted may be a better sell

So my question is.. Are Lotus cars generally a target for car thieves in your experience?

I didnt select the Tracker option (optional extra at £500) in the 'other' section. My logic is that I would rather have a Ghost immobiliser fitted for a cost of £449, a more preventative option than a recovery one.

I live in a fairly decent area where a lot of residents have expensive cars, especially keyless cars. It seems that local cars are stolen almost weekly in the surrounding areas (usually SUVs...range rovers, BMW X5s...not so much the sport cars). Most owners that I have spoken to near me are not taking precautions with the keyless cars that they could , eg using faraday pouches or steerng wheel locks, so it does not surpise me that cars are so easy to take.