Gearbox software

Mark.

Reaction score
Following on from all the reviews I guess us i4 fans will be looking for gearbox software....

What's the opinion on the A45s standard software and what tuning options are there out there?

OP
M

Mark.

Reaction score
Do Merc offer any gearbox 8 speed DCT front wheel drive?

Maybe there are torque/power limits on the gearbox that are coming in to play here making the software conservative

DJManc

Reaction score
Following on from all the reviews I guess us i4 fans will be looking for gearbox software....

What's the opinion on the A45s standard software and what tuning options are there out there?
I heard recently that the gearbox ECU on the A45s is locked preventing software updates from outside sources. Not sure how true this is or if in fact it can be decoded/unlocked somehow to modify. Also, I am no techie but I wonder if the hesitancy of the Emira transmission has anything to do with the Bosch control unit that Lotus uses in the Emira set up which is mentioned in the recent 'The Smoking Tyre' review.

Nova

Emira Addict
Reaction score
Do Merc offer any gearbox 8 speed DCT front wheel drive?

Maybe there are torque/power limits on the gearbox that are coming in to play here making the software conservative
The short answer is that the 8G-DCT is perfectly suitable for front-wheel-drive applications since it has the transverse axle outputs built-in, which is why it's being used here in the Emira. The only other transmission Mercedes has that can be used this way is the 7G-DCT, but we don't know if that transmission can fit the M139 or handle its torque output.

Regardless, there is no technical reason why the 8G-DCT can't be more responsive. The slow-shifting speed, especially on the downshift, was not such a significant complaint for A45S so I am not sure why it behaves this way in the Emira.

Nova

Emira Addict
Reaction score