• We are conducting our first ever Lotus Emira of the Month for May 2024. This will be a monthly contest and will be submissions from users, voted for by the membership. Please take a moment to check out thread here: 🏆 May 2024 - Emira of the Month starts now! (You can dismiss this message by clicking the X in the top right hand corner of this notice.)

Reliability of German marques

Green

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Many owners sell their German vehicles within a few years after the warranty expires. I'd be surprised if your German cars are kept for 10-20 years without any issues. In fact, I'd contact the Guiness book of world records to see if anyone else was so lucky! :sneaky:
Im driving a 2010 v10 R8 and no issues. I have been enjoying for 3 years now. Bought new golf R owned for five years trouble free. I think you are wrong. Sorry.

OP
Concept24

Concept24

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Let's take a look at an example of a car for which Consumer Reports has thousands of owner surveys, regarding reliability.
Of the 17 categories, the Audi A6 has "well below average" ratings in many for years 2013 through 2016 (all after the warranties expired). For the 2015 model year, categories with well below ratings are:
Engine, Major
Engine, Minor
Engine, Cooling
Electrical
Exhaust
Power equipment.
Almost every year A6 had issues with the fuel system and brakes.
If anyone thinks this is somehow excellent reliability, you need only look at the same categories for a Lexus ES350 or 300h to see the massive difference.

Last edited:

Green

Emira Fiend
Reaction score
Let's take a look at an example of a car for which Consumer Reports has thousands of owner surveys, regarding reliability.
Of the 17 categories, the Audi A6 has "well below average" ratings in many for years 2013 through 2016 (all after the warranties expired). For the 2015 model year, categories with well below ratings are:
Engine, Major
Engine, Minor
Engine, Cooling
Electrical
Exhaust
Power equipment.